Bulgur in the morning, bulgur in the evening, bulgur at suppertime!

31Days2013

Sometimes when I cook, I make a lot of one item, then remake it into several different dishes or meals. Bulgur is one of my favorite ingredients to use this way. Bulgur is a whole grain, a “groat” of wheat, and I just learned that a groat is the cereal germ and fiber-rich bran of the grain, as well as the endosperm, the usual product of milling (Wikipedia). Sounds quite nutritious, but I just know I like the taste and versatility of bulgur. And that at my favorite Brooklyn Market, Sahadi’s I can buy it in bulk for less than a dollar a pound.

When I cook bulgur, I make 2-3 times the amount needed for the current meal or recipe. Usually that’s dinner: cooked bulgur tossed with browned butter & sage makes a delicious side, or can act as a base for what I call “kitchen sink salad”- a mélange of ingredients on hand: diced vegetables, either fresh or grilled; chopped herbs; handfuls of pumpkin seeds, dried cherries or cranberries, perhaps a few tablespoons of crumbled cheese and homemade vinagrette. Sometimes I cook the grain in my rice cooker; sometimes on the stove top. Either way is simple and takes just minutes.

Do you cook bulgur? What are your ideas or recipes for making/remaking it?

photo (3)

A bowlful of steamy bulgur cereal is comforting on a cold morning, and for some of us there are a lot of those ahead. So I’ll share a basic recipe for cooked bulgur, and a recipe for remaking it as breakfast cereal. One recipe of cooked bulgur is enough for two servings of the cereal. TBM doesn’t like cooked cereal, but I make it for myself anyway (though remember, I usually make 2-3 times more cooked bulgur than I need!)

Cooked Bulgur

Put 1/2 cup bulgur, 1 cup cold water, and 1/2 tsp salt in a small saucepan. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and cook 10-12 minutes. Drain excess water.

Bulgur Cereal

In a small saucepan, heat 3/4 cup milk (or cream, or half & half), 1 TBSP brown sugar, a few dashes of cinnamon. Do not boil, but when hot, stir in cooked bulgur and a handful of add-ins (dried fruit, nuts, etc.) Serve topped with maple syrup.

One thought on “Bulgur in the morning, bulgur in the evening, bulgur at suppertime!

  1. Pingback: Thirty-One Days: Reuse, Remake, Re-love | reusethematerialgirl

Leave a Reply

