Flower Power

31Days2013

So, after a holier-than-thou post yesterday regarding the nasty cut flower industry, a dilemma:

What to do when someone gives your husband a huge bouquet of beautiful cut flowers? No, not a lover; there is no illicit affair being carried forth. But recently TBM was given flowers, after he brilliantly did what he does best in this world. You know, as a congratulatory gesture.

TBM then gave the flowers to me, because flowers don’t interest him (not to say he wasn’t touched by their receipt). And I thought, “UGH! I won’t have such sinful flowers in my home!” No, I didn’t think that, but I did think, “Well, there has already been so much waste bringing these flowers to us, I can’t continue wasting them now.”

But this was in Brooklyn, where our apartment is equipped with just the bare-bones necessities, which does not include an enormous vase in which to display a bouquet of flowers. So I got creative with a few bottles and jars I have lying around, and ended up with four bouquets and one additional arrangement of greenery.

photo 1 (2) photo 1 (3)photo 2 (3)photo 2 (2)

I didn’t take a picture of the greenery, but it was lovely too. And how lovely to have flowers in each room of our apartment for well over a week. Perhaps the existence of these cut flowers was redeemed just a bit as they lived out their days graciously in our midst. Just yesterday I salvaged the few blossoms that weren’t spent (the white and yellow mums) and chopped up the rest to toss on the compost. Then I used the water in the jars and bottles to water plants. Waste not; I do try always to live by those words.

One thought on “Flower Power

  1. Pingback: Thirty-One Days: Reuse, Remake, Re-love | reusethematerialgirl

Leave a Reply

